Tags

, ,

My wife and I have a new tradition in Atlanta — every March, there is a marathon on our street. We wake up early (for us) and, rather than compete, we make mimosas, a sugary breakfast, watch the marathon from our southern porch, and do our taxes.

marathon_breakfast

This year though I have pink eye. So no Mimosas. My left eye basically constantly feels like I’ve had the same contact in for several days. This is the 3rd time I’ve had pink eye. The other two times were more epic:

  1. woke up with pink eye on sun, sat, had 3 math finals on mon
  2. red eye back from our honeymoon, woke up with pink eye, spent the next week moving into our new place in Atlanta.

I’ve always liked how Anton geeked out when he had a blood clot and made a detailed web page about it. So I’m going to do the same. (Also, at this rate I’ll probably get pink eye another 6 times in my life, I may as well learn everything about it.)

Pink eye (conjunctivitis):

  1. Wikipedia 
  2. Webmd 
  3. CDC 
  4. Pubmed

Actually, there’s not that much to say about pink eye:

  1. Usually heals naturally in 7-10 days.
  2. When you wake up your eyes are glued shut
  3. Try not to infect the other eye.

One good tip for 3 — wipe from your nose to the outside of your face.  And in general, there’s something very satisfying about a midday, 3-hour, feverish nap.

The downside is that I’m often not quite lucid enough to do math. (And for instance, this blog post was written in a non-lucid state and edited later. Its like Hemingway said “Write drunk, edit sober.”) When I’m sick I usually pick up some free or cheap flash or iPhone game and play it. (Usually from one of toucharcade’s best of lists.)

Coincidentally, this weekend, Nimblebit was demoing their game NimbleQuest,

This was fun, but to really rock it you need to spend a lot of time leveling up. Which I don’t really have. There is *some* time lucid enough to do math, but I didn’t want that time to go to waste game-wise.

Automation

So I cheated — I wrote an apple script that would repeatedly walk my characters in a circle, collecting gems and whatnot, using applescript.

What is applescript
Basically its a high level language for Macs that lets you automate things. Usually I use Bash for this, but if I need to do something like click a particular spot on my screen, or resize windows, I use applescript.

Here’s a good description of applescript from Profhacker. Also, Profhacker is pretty cool, check that out too.

The following script just makes my game character walk in a rectangle (he attacks on his own), and at the end of every walk hits “return” three times, so that, if the character dies he can restart.

activate application "Google Chrome"
repeat
delay 0.1

tell application "System Events"
repeat 3 times
keystroke return
delay 0.1
end repeat
end tell
delay 0.575

tell application "System Events"
keystroke "w"
end tell
delay 3
tell application "System Events"
keystroke "d"
end tell
delay 1
tell application "System Events"
keystroke "s"
end tell
delay 3
tell application "System Events"
keystroke "a"
end tell

end repeat

To tell the truth this is almost as much fun as actually playing the game… So far the game seems to make about 250 diamonds an hour.

